my first garden.

img_0960web

After tons of thought and talk about taking the homegrown plunge, I finally took direction from the current issue of ReadyMade. Our neighborhood isn’t known for it’s quality of soil, so the above-ground bed seemed like a perfect solution (it’s also Idgie-proof, hence the chicken wire surround).

It took a little over 2 hours (including one trip to Lowe’s to pick up more sod), a lot of sweat and a bit of elbow grease (the hardest part, by far, was the digging-up of the top layer of existing grass). Plan ahead! You’ll need at least 13 bags of sod to fill the entire frame.

I decided to go simple with the planting: tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, green onions and a variety of herbs. Some are seeds, which worry the novice gardener in me, but I figure I can replenish any duds with farmers’ market finds over the next month.

Explore posts in the same categories: Random. I know.

2 Comments on “my first garden.”

  1. nikki Says:

    lovely lovely
    good luck with it!

  2. Rachael Says:

    It looks great!


Leave a Reply

